MN Federation of Republican Women Celebrates 75th Anniversary

HASTINGS, MN – The MN Federation of Republican Women (MNFRW) celebrated its 75th anniversary Saturday, August 5, 2017, with congratulatory wishes, awards, and speeches at a sold-out event in Hastings, MN.

MNFRW President, Pam Myhra said, “Besides celebrating the 75th anniversary of the MN Federation of Republican Women, we are excited by the formation of three new clubs in MN, 20% membership growth this year and more than 75,000 volunteer hours given by our members in the last 2 years to benefit Republican candidates, the Republican Party, and the Federation of Republican Women!”

Included in the festivities was the presentation of the MNFRW President’s “Star of the North” award to RNC Committeewoman, Janet Beihoffer, for her exemplary volunteer work to bring people together and her commitment to Republican principles. Also, the “Marge Gruenes Scholarship” was awarded to Mariah Russell, the MNFRW’s National Pathfinder Scholarship finalist. “We are strongest when we bring out the best in each other,” Myhra also shared.

Dignitaries present to give celebratory greetings and listen to the concerns of guests included U.S. Congressman Tom Emmer; U.S. Congressman Jason Lewis; former U.S. Congressman John Kline; State Senator Bruce Anderson; State Representatives: Sondra Erickson, Nolan West, and Cindy Pugh; Republican gubernatorial candidates: Rep. Matt Dean; former MNGOP Chair, Keith Downey; Ramsey County Commissioner, Blake Huffman; Hennepin County Commissioner, Jeff Johnson; Phillip Parrish; and Jeffrey Wharton; Republican Attorney General candidates: Harry Niska and Douglas Wardlow; Republican Congressional District 7 candidate Dave Hughes; MNGOP Chairwoman, Jennifer Carnahan; MNGOP Deputy Chair David Pascoe; RNC Committeewoman, Janet Beihoffer and RNC Committeeman, Rick Rice. Also, present at the festivities were Rick Aguilar, Hispanic Republican Assembly of MN Chair; Mike Lehmann, Republican Seniors of MN Chair; Mark Miller, MN Jewish Republican Coalition Chair, and Robert Yang, Asian American Republicans of MN Chair. The keynote speech, “Why We Do What We Do: A Call to Action for MN Republican Women”, was given by Annette Meeks, founder and CEO of the Freedom Foundation of MN. Despite the rain, guests agreed, it would be a celebration long remembered.

The MNFRW is the Minnesota affiliate chapter of the National Federation of Republican Women. Its mission is to encourage, educate and support Republican women from all age groups and walks of life to be key players at the political table on national, state, and local issues.